Levain Bakery cookies chocolate

NYChocolate

My first year of University is over and after looking into the world of chocolate for one of my projects it was the first thing I reached for.

When researching the chocolate industry I was shocked to discover that in just 20 years time chocolate may become something that only the social elite can afford. With that scary thought in mind I planned to sample as much of it as possible before I can no longer afford the luxury.

In 20 years chocolate will become so rare and so expensive that the average Joe just won’t be able to afford it

– John Mason, founder of the Ghana-based Nature Conservation Research Council

So here are my top 3 chocolate moments in New York so far;

Chocolate Fondues at Max Brenner – Union Square

This indulgent experience is for the serious chocolate lovers! With a huge menu of chocolate heavy dishes I was in heaven. Though the Spectacular Melting Chocolate S’mores Sundae was the best I have ever had. Its chocolate peanut butter ice cream, milk chocolate fondue, warm peanut butter sauce, chocolate chunks, whipped cream and a toasted marshmallow was perfection in a glass but it was the fondue that left me wanting more. The Crystal Churros fondue with sharp raspberries, warm toffee sauce and indulgent milk chocolate perfect for dipping was sensational and perfect for any chocolate lovers out there.

Cookies at Levain Bakery – Upper West side

Until I found this place I had never heard of deep dish cookies but they quickly made ‘regular’ cookies seem oh so sad. Though there is always a queue out the door the wait is worth it as these cookies are served warm, they melt in your mouth and are practically a meal of their own.

Chocolate Babka at Breads Bakery – Union Square

 

Sadly I didn’t discover this until late in my Spring semester, which may actually have been a blessing! This chocolate babka is delicious when warm and served straight from the oven. It is so light and crisp that its easy to eat the whole thing in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

