FAO Schwartz New York closes

F.A.O Schwartz will sadly close its doors

The legendary toy store, F. A. O. Schwarz on Fifth Avenue, will close its doors July 15 after 145 years in the same spot. It is believed to be due rising rents and demand for ultraluxury retailing in New York City’s luxury shopping district.

The toy store for me was made famous in the 1988 Tom Hanks film ‘Big’ where I was bewitched as I watched him dance out a tune on the giant toy keyboard, which sadly today is overrun by children who lack the talent that Tom Hanks had.

I will be sad to see a personal favourite shop of mine close as every time I walk through its doors I automatically revert to being a big kid once again.

image

Leave a Reply

